OPA spine surgeons are board-certified and have received fellowship training in their specialty at some of the best hospitals in the United States and the world. They are experienced in the treatment of spinal conditions including scoliosis, degenerative or herniated spinal discs, fractures of the spine and tumors of the spine. OPA surgeons have perfected minimally invasive fusion techniques and are certified in performance of artificial disc replacement surgery.

Additional areas we serve:

Seattle, BellevueKirkland, Redmond

Renton, Shoreline, Lynnwood, Burien


  • Arthritis
  • Back / neck pain
  • Cervical myelopathy
  • Compression fractures of the spine VIDEO ►
  • Degenerative disc disease VIDEO ►
  • Facet joint arthritis
  • Herniated discs VIDEO ►
  • Kyphosis
  • Lumbar radiculopathy
  • Myelopathy
  • Neck fractures
  • Osteoporosis VIDEO ►
  • Radiculopathy
  • Sacroiliac (SI) joint pain
  • Sacroilitis
  • Sciatica VIDEO ►
  • Scoliosis (over the age of 18) VIDEO ►
  • Spondylolisthesis VIDEO ►
  • Spondylosis
  • Sprains & strains for the neck/spine
  • Stenosis (of all kinds) VIDEO ►
  • Treatment for lower back pain
  • Vertebral compression fracture
  • Anterior cervical discectomy and fusion VIDEO ►
  • Anterior lumbar interbody fusion VIDEO ►
  • Cervical and lumbar fusions VIDEO ►
  • Cervical discectomy
  • Cervical foraminotomy
  • Cervical laminectomy VIDEO ►
  • CoFlex device
  • Epidural steroid injections
  • Facet joint injections
  • Lumbar decompression
  • Lumbar epidural steroid injections
  • Lumbar fusion
  • Lumbar laminectomy VIDEO ►
  • Medial branch nerve ablations
  • Micro discectomy
  • Spinal fusion VIDEO ►
  • Vertebroplasty



The spine is composed of 33 bones, called vertebrae, divided into five sections: The cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine sections and the sacrum and coccyx bones.

The cervical section of the spine is made up of the top seven vertebrae in the spine, C1 to C7, and is connected to the base of the skull. The top two vertebrae are also known as the atlas and axis and form the joint for connecting the skull to the spine. The cervical section is responsible for mobility and normal functioning of the neck as well as protection of the spinal cord, arteries and nerves that travel from the brain to the body.

The thoracic section of the spine is located at chest level between the cervical and lumbar vertebrae. The vertebrae in this section are labeled T1 to T12 and serve as attachments for the rib cage.

The lumbar section is located between the thoracic vertebrae and the sacrum. The five lumbar vertebrae, labeled L1 to L5, are the main weight-bearing section of the spinal column.

The sacrum is the section located at the base of the spine. It does not have discs separating the vertebrae because its five levels, S1 to S5, are fused together. The pelvis is connected to the spinal column at the sacrum section.

The coccyx is at the very base of the spinal column and is made of four vertebrae that are fused together.